Eating out and Healthy

Eating healthy can sometimes put restrictions on eating out.  For me at least, eating out is fun and relaxing.  It’s more like a treat to me.  So when I do eat out, I tend to order something really tasty like wings or Philly cheese steaks because those are some things that I don’t usually eat. 

I don’t think that eating healthy should limit eating out, though you do have to be aware that restaurants often serve larger portions.  There are plenty of healthy places to eat as I mentioned a few weeks back in a post about the healthiest places to eat around Morgantown. 

The other day I had dinner with a friend at the Kenyan Café.  It was a different experience so I still felt like I was indulging.  The food here is all either organic or all-natural and offers the customer a true taste of Kenyan cuisine.  The owner has been cooking authentic Kenyan cuisine since he was a boy and has trained his cooks to make these same recipes for customers to enjoy.

The food is a bit spicy, so if you do not like spicy food, I would stick to beans and rice dishes.  For an appetizer, my friend and I tried the beef samosas.  These are beef mixed with traditional African spiced and wrapped in flour.  They were absolutely delicious, but a bit spicy…though I think mild is too spicy so don’t take my word for it!  For the entre I had organic beans and rice with any stew.  I chose the chicken stew, but you could also order beef or lamb.  The stew and especially the vegetables were delicious.  The rice and beans were admittedly my favorite because they weren’t spicy at all, but all in all I ate everything on my plate.  I would also recommend the cocoa mocha, it was to die for, I had to order a second to-go.

Eating healthy doesn’t mean depriving yourself.  Think of it as a way to try new things and gain new experiences.  Try sushi and African cuisine and make a fun dinner night out of it with friends!

About tonicekada

I am a junior print journalism major at West Virginia University. I have two minors in Italian and fitness.
This entry was posted in Benefits to healthy living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

